Domestic Oblivion


Six Is Actually A Lot
September 11, 2010, 5:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

As I get older I’m realizing that I am a very, very slow learner.  Like a bash-her-over-the-head-for-YEARS sort of slow learner.  I am FINALLY beginning to understand, see the dawning, grasp the scope, whatever you will, that six people is a lot of people to be in charge of.

I know.  Long, low learning curve over here.

My youngest child is nine and a half, and I’m seriously just getting this.  Next week I will be in charge of a 9, 11, 12, and 13 year old.  I feel sort of foolish.  I have a distinct memory of comparing myself to my very lovely neighbor, and all that she was able to accomplish.  She said “that’s because I only have one child, and you have four children under the age of 7”.  And I looked at her and said “do you think that makes a difference?”.

I am finally catching on.  And believe it or not, just knowing that six is indeed a lot is making things easier.

*****

I had a new experience this week.  I was running errands one morning, and got back  into my car, which I had parked in the shade of the music store.  I put my seat belt on, and thought, “this is nice, I’m just going to sit here a minute”.

And then I woke up 95 minutes later.

Still buckled in.

*****

Last night at dinner Mason was trying to prove some point, and says:

“Well, that’s stupid!  It’s like thinking that (insert a name of a D&D character) is like (insert a name of a different D&D character), when actually…..”

He sort of trailed off because we were all staring at him, silently.

And then, in a REALLY loud voice he says “ OH! THAT’S RIGHT! HE WENT THERE! HE USED A SIMILE TO PROVE HIS POINT!”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

