Domestic Oblivion


Not Sure Why I Bother
May 22, 2011, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last month while Davie-O was on his epic business trip of epicness, I found myself in a dinner making funk.  And by that, I mean I was completely sick of making dinner and I didn’t want to do it anymore.  So, instead of having yet another fend-for-yourself night, I decided to try something new.

I alerted the kids to the portion of dinner I would be making, and told them I expected them to come up with the other stuff to round out the meal.

My contribution:  a strawberry (and soy, but don’t tell them) smoothie, and 2 pounds of bacon. 

I told the kids I was cooking the bacon, and it was up to them to fix whatever else they wanted to go with that.  I was thinking eggs, pancakes, french toast, L & T and some toast.  Stuff like that.

When we sat down to dinner, here’s what was on the table:

  • 4 glasses of strawberry soy smoothie
  • 2 pounds of bacon

And, of course, no one had lifted a finger to make anything else.  It was, however, pronounced, and I’ll quote, “the best dinner ever made”.  By all 4 children.

Still wondering why I bother most of the time…..

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So glad you’re writing again. You make me laugh.

Comment by misstreez




Leave a Reply

